How long does it really take to learn 2000 words in another language?

• I saw the post on the blog and it motivated me
    https://lingvist.com/blog/science/2017/03/15/how-long-does-it-really-take-to-learn-2000-words/

After some days of use, I realize that I am learning 5 words a day, despite the app says to me that I am learning ~30. I am a beginner German learner with only some months of regular book-based course.

My question is: that blog post seems really wrong and not scientific in the sense that it lacks information about the method used to compute those conclusions.

Where the user beginners? Is 2000 the difference between the "starting" and "ending" counts of words? The counts of words mean what? If in my case ~30 mean ~5, and I am doing 30 per hour, in 17 will I learn 2000 words, really? The numbers do not seem right.

I do not think I am the worst learner in the entire World to get like 100-200 in 17 hours (6-11 w/h) words instead of 2000 in 17 hours (117 w/h). Actually, I was always the "Middle-Best "student of my classes (English, University, German...) What is wrong here?

Am I missing something? Could you explain better with more data? I think updating the blog post should be considered as well so that it can be clear. I guess a really misunderstood the blog post. =\

Many thanks
    Henry

• Lingvist graduate

I finished the French course (~5100 words) in ~81 hours, spread over 2 years. There were months I didn't use the app at all, which is why it took so long.

I used to do 150 words a session, which took around 30 mins. I think that if you can commit to 150 words a day you should be able to finish any course here in a relatively small amount of time.

I don't know about other courses but there are plenty of unique words in the French course.

• There is a thread talking about 5000 "lemmas" vs "words": https://lingvist.com/forum/topic/304/5000-lemmas-or-words