Why are you learning Russian?

Hi there!

As an author of the Russian course I'm curious to know why are you learning Russian and whether or not you are using it on a daily basis?

We all have our stories, here's a lovely story of a 74 yo woman who started learning Russian aged 56, and says it has given her a whole new life http://rbth.com/arts/literature/2016/04/22/learning-russian-has-given-me-a-whole-new-life_587093

Looking forward to your stories!

I voted for "just for fun" but that's not totally right. I'm very interested in the literature and by the way I'm a student of french literature and the russians have done great works in literature, in my opinion russian and persian literature are thousands times better than american or english literature. So I want to read russian literature in russan, that's the most important thing for me. And it's other benefits like one more language, learning a new culture, new people and the fact that it's very beneficial for getting a better job, these are the other reasons.

Hi @pripyatbelediyebaskani

Thanks for your reply! Who are your favourite Russian writers?

It is hard to name one favourite writer or one favourite book, but I would say that Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky are my favourite authors.

If you need any book recommendations, let me know! :)

Hello, Sabina!

I have a few different reasons. First is for fun because Russian is different from the languages I have been exposed to thus far. Second is for literature because Russian is one of the best languages for it (and because I would like to compare the translations that exist for these stories, which are so vastly different! But I know it would take me a long time to reach reading level, especially for classics). Third is that I know some Russian people and it would be fun to use it with them. I don't think I would be learning it without any of these components. I'm actually not the greatest at motivating myself.